My Pick For 2012’s Albums

*This article has been published in unitybond.com and is republished here after the site has been shut down.

I’m neither good at describing how music sound nor how awesome an album is with words. But I tried my best to present you my list of 2012’s worthy albums. I have a lot in my mind. And I think I would give the underrated and debut albums a chance to be mentioned here. I will still list a few other albums from well-established artists because they deserve the mention.

1. Coexist – The xx

It came to an absolute shock when this album was not listed in NME’s top 10 albums of the year. Tracks from this album was also none to be seen in Spotify’s top 20 songs streamed.

Coexist is the second album to be produced by this trio. To no surprise, they still carry the same tempo as in their self-titled debut album 2 years ago, with a huge difference in music arrangement. The duo vocal interplay fits the music arrangement very well and it’s much obvious when you hook on to your headphone with a quite surrounding. They play with minimal instruments and listening to them in a crowded place will not get you to the album’s best delivery. My highest rated track for this album is Chained. It’s beyond awesome. I like how the beats come into the song.

2. Suicide Pact – JJAMZ

We tasted fame, we made our fortune
It was stripped away, now memories long past
Then you were tamed and I was tortured

An indie pop band that consists of 4 individuals from 4 different bands with an additional member. Suicide Pact is their debut album and was launched somewhere in July. Their songs are not only love-based but more to life-oriented. One or two tracks might sound pretty familiar to other indie pop songs but the lyrics are something worth to give attention on. Recommended track from this album would be Suicide Pact itself.

3. Gold Motel – Gold Motel

My list will not be complete without Gold Motel. Second album came out after a successful debut album, Summer House. A great album for an easy-going environment. Make sure you have it on your playlist when you are out to the beach. Your day would be better with this easy-listening album.

4. Vital – Anberlin

To be honest, Vital is the first album of Anberlin that I listen to. Anberlin is a well-established rock band since 2002. I listened to their 2007, 2008 and 2010’s abums right after I finished listening this album and I would say this album will not be a disappointment.

5. Make It Right – Abel

A rock band that has not received much spotlight through their debut album, Make It Right. An album that gets you on the fragility of life and love. From the opener of the album; I’ll Be Alright – till the last track; Comfort and Truth – each track sounds pretty related to each other.

6. Hello, My Name Is… – Bridgit Mendler

I guess no introduction needed for Bridgit Mendler. She has always impressed me with her outstanding vocal. She is absolutely amazing even on live performance. Get her best voice with a bright vocal on her acoustic videos in Youtube. And this debut album is a must-have.

7. Esc – Clara C

I guess she first made her appearance on Youtube before moving on to produce two albums. Another Asian who has successfully cemented her name in the US market. Catchy songs accompanied by acoustic guitar performed by herself.

8. Red – Dia Frampton

If you like Kimbra, Bridgit Mindler, Birdy or Duffy, then you must listen to this pop artist. Don’t Kick The Chair, Love Can Come From Anywhere and Stairway To The Stars are my three recommendation if you are up to a pre-listen on Dia Frampton. Why three? Because giving two is too mainstream.

9. Night Visions – Imagine Dragons

My most awaited album of the year. And it is absolutely worth the wait. I can at least have something to cure my disappointment with Muse’s The 2nd Law album. They have a bright future ahead. Album’s reviews on iTunes Music are outstanding with positive reception everywhere to prove how successful this album is.

10. Picture Show – Neon Trees

A successor of Habits album. Never listen to them? Head to Picture Show’s Everybody Talks or Habit’s Animal. Two songs that can describe them best in my opinion. A good album with a good value.

Still want a few other albums that worth your money? Hmm… Let’s see. Matchbox Twenty’s North is a must. Keane’s Strangeland is also a must because I rate this album to be their second best album after Hopes & Fears. Among other albums that worth my money go to Walk The Moon self-titled album and Gossamer from Passion Pit. Well, The Information Retrieved from rock band Pinback, Yuna self-titled album apart from Frank Ocean’s Channel Orange and The Weeknd’s Trilogy also deserve a mention here.

Ouh bad bad me. Apologize me for giving you a heck of list. They at least deserve a recognition from an unknown little Asian, don’t you think so? So enjoy your listening and hopefully they can suit your music taste!

Disclaimer: I have no right over all album covers/official music videos used in this article.

Leave a Reply

